NEWS Work & Residence        20/02/2020

Turkey to allow visa-free travel for 6 European countries

The Turkish foreign ministry has announced that citizens of six more European countries will be able to travel to Turkey without a visa starting as from March 2nd, 2020. Countries for which Turkey will lift visa restrictions for tourists are Austria, Belgium, Holland, Poland, Spain and the UK. The new visa-free regime will allow entry for up to 90 days per 180-day period.


The Turkish government wishes to boost tourism to in general further develop commercial, economic and cultural relations with these six nations. Turkey is already a popular destination for British tourists, with more than 2.5 million arrivals last year. Some 51.7 million people visited Turkey in 2019, including 45 million foreigners and 6.7 million Turkish citizens residing abroad.


Turkey’s net minimum wage has been raised 21.56% to TL 2,825.90 (USD 380) as of 01.01.2021       Migration communication helpline 157 available for foreigners in Turkey       Read our homepage articles on developments in the Turkish economy       Turkey’s official annual inflation rate increases to 19.25% in August 2021       Turkey’s official unemployment rate shoots back up to 12% in July 2021       Read our BUSINESS section for latest sectoral and corporate news       Turkey’s population is 83,614,362 as of 2020 yearend       Foreigners visiting Turkey in 2020 falls by 71.7% to 12.7 million       Turkey’s private sector foreign debt is USD 173.9 billion as of 2020 yearend       Turkey’s economy grew by 1.8% in 2020       Foreign Direct Investment inflow to Turkey was USD 7.7 billion in 2020